The photos posted here are compressed by Google software. I am happy to provide high-resolution images - just let me know what you require at There is no cost.

Saturday, 1 August 2015

2015 National XC Champs Haswell Quarry Christchurch Sat 1 Aug


Malcolm Hicks (Auckland) regained the title he won in 2013, holding off race favourite Matt Baxter (Auckland)

The U10 winner but because entries were not required I do not have a name. Needless to say we shall probably see him in a few years breaking a few records.

Marcus Karmanolis (Wellington) overcame a classy Men's U20 field to lift the championship title for this grade

An untroubled Rosa Flanagan (Canterbury) is shadowed by Gabrielle Gray (Canterbury) in the early part of the Women's U20 race. Flanagan ran clear to win with a margin of 54s over Gray

Samuel Mackay-Wright (Tasman) posted a stunning win in a big Men's U18 field, which included a team of 7 from Southland  . 

Kelsey Forman (Wellington) showed her class by trouncing a competitive Women's U18 field to win the national title. 

Mel Aitken (Otago) won the Masters Women's race with daylight between her and the next competitor.

Jono McKee (Auckland) ran an impressive race to win the 35-39 Masters Men title. He would have  done well in the Senior Men's 12k race

William Wallace (Tasman)  - not looking well and close to collapse. A heart-wrenching sight with shades of an exhausted/dehydrated Craig Barrett at the 1998 Commonwealth Games in Malaysia.