The photos posted here are compressed by Google software. I am happy to provide high-resolution images - just let me know what you require at There is no cost.

Wednesday, 1 April 2015

2015 Lifestyle 5k Series Wellington Waterfront Tue 31 Mar


Hugo Beamish picked a perfect evening to turnout for his first ever start in this event. The well-performed former NZ 5000m track champion from 2013 with a personal best over this distance of 13.47.42.  Beamish has been mostly absent from the racing scene over the last year or so for what I believe have been injury issues.  In tonight's race Hugo zapped around the course in 14.45 which is about 7 seconds away from the course record of 14.38 set by Julian Matthews late last year. In 2nd place was Ben Twyman (16.37), Alistair Saunders (17.00) followed by Bert Prendergast (17.30). The fastest female was Stacey Kennedy who finished in a time of 18.55 to repeat her win from last week.

Readers should note that Beamish, Twyman and Prendergast have raced each other before - away back in 2006 at the NZSSAA cross country race held in Tauranga. At that event an in-form Beamish won the coverted senior boys title after a classic battle with Terefe Ejigu.
The race included a who's who of elite running including Jake Robertso, Zane Robertson, Mathew Mildenhall, Hamish Carson, Domimic Channon, Brendan Blacklaws, Dallas Bowden, Ryan Sissons Julian Matthews and Alex Parlane The Beamish legacy continued last year when brother Geordie won the same senior boys title last year in Palmerston North.

Hugo Beamish 14.45

Ben Twyman 16.37

Bert Prendergast 17.30

Stacey Kennedy 18.53

I have included below some photos from both the NZSSAA cross country races in Wanganui in 2005 and Tauranga in 2006.

Bert Prendergast Wanganui 2005 4000m 16.08 138th place

Ben Twyman Wanganui 2005 4000m 18.11 175th place

Bert Prendergast (in the sunnies) Tauranga 2006 6000m 24.39 171st place

Ben Twyman Tauranga 2006 6000m 25.49 198th place

The SB class of 06 - the lead pack on lap 1 , Brendan Blacklaws (Wgtn College), Biruk Belachew (Mt Roskill Grammar), Terefe Ejigu (Wgtn College), Mathew Mildenhall (Auck Grammar), Jake Robertson (Fairfield College, Dallas Bowden (Nelson College), Hugo Beamish (Wanganui Collegiate)