The photos posted here are compressed by Google software. I am happy to provide high-resolution images - just let me know what you require at There is no cost.

Wednesday, 30 July 2014

2014 Wellington Secondary Schools Road Relay Races Trentham Memorial Park Upper Hutt Wed 30 Jul

These relays are normally held later in the year but were brought forward to encourage more teams to enter. In the end only 19 teams turned up, including teams from Rathkeale College in Masterton. Because of the low turnout all of the grades were started together The strong north westerly made parts of the course challenging and it was obvious that runners were at times stuggling to contend with the wind. At least it didn't rain. Results


Sunday, 20 July 2014

2014 Wellington XC Champ Races Waikanae Sat 19 Jul


Cameron Goldsmid won the senior 12,000m in 41:08. Goldsmid has now won every Wellington interclub event this season. Ryan McAlister was second in 41:17 and Dougal Thorburn third in 41:50. Tina Harris won the senior 8000m in 31:25 from Nicole Mitchell 32:31 and Gabrielle O’Rourke 32:41. The junior women 6000m went to Stevie Paine in 25:38 while Phoebe van Boheemen headed in Kelsey Forman in 15:47 in the youth 4000m, Forman recording 16:02. Van Boheemen only joined Olympic a year ago and has had a fantastic season battling it out with Forman in most races. Forman is off to Australia at the end of August with the New Zealand secondary schools cross country team. Jackie Mexted was the best of the master women in 24:30 for the 6000m, with O’Rourke following up her third in the senior women in second. Nathan Tse won the junior 8000m in 27:53, beating Marcus Karamanolis by 25 seconds. Stefan Przychodzko won the youth 6000m in 20:47 from Tom Caughley 21:16. Grant McLean, who turned 40 in 2008, was the quickest around the masters 8000m in 28:49, to win his sixth M40 title in seven years (he was beaten by Todd Stevens last year). McLean has now won more masters titles than any other male in the history of M40 championships in the Wellington region. Source ANZ

Cam Goldsmid adds the Wgtn XC title to his wins at the Vosseler and the Dorne

Dave Parsons (Non-Champ SM) ran a well judged race to outsmart he tenacious Grant McLean (MM 40+ winner)

The legendary Graham Macky on a rare visit to Wellington